• USA : +1 973 910 5725
  • INDIA: +91 905 291 3388
  • info@tekslate.com
  • Login

Reviewing Multiuser Options During Development in OBIEE 11g

Reviewing Multiuser Options During Development in OBIEE 11g

After you and other developers have finished making your changes, you have several options available for analyzing the changes.

These options include the following:

• Compare with Original: Compares the working, extracted local repository to the original extracted repository
• Merge Local Changes: Allows you to check in your changes. (Discussed below in “Merging Local Changes.”)
• Publish to Network: Locks the repository, verifies that no other developer-published changes to the master exist, and then publishes the repository. (Discussed below in “Publishing Local Changes.”)
• Undo Merge Local Changes: Rolls back any previously merged local changes, and leaves the repository checked out so that you can make additional changes, and then merge your local changes again. This option is only available after you have already merged local changes.
• Discard Local Changes: Abandons your changes. When you select this option, the working repository closes without giving you an opportunity to save your work. You can discard your changes any time after checkout, but before checkin.

To review the multiuser options, perform the following steps:

1 . Using Adam’s repository (abell.rpd), click File > Multiuser > Compare with Original.3

2 . The “Compare repositories” dialog box appears. In this example, this dialog box compares abell.rpd (the subse repository) with originalabell.rpd. You can see the deletion of the Presentation layer tables by Adam. Scroll down and examine all objects that were deleted.

3

Within this dialog box, you can perform functions, such as Equalize (used to treat two objects in two repositories that have the same name but different upgrade IDs as the same object), Mark (annotates the objec you select with a surrounding box for comparison against other objects), Create Patch (generates an XML patch file that contains only the changes made to a repository, which can then be applied to the original versio of the repository to create the new version), and so on.

3 . Click Cancel.
4 . Minimize Adam’s Administration Tool.
5. Compare Helen’s changes now. In Helen’s Administration Tool, click File —> Multiuser –> Compare with Original.

3

At TekSlate, we offer resources that help you in learning various IT courses. 
We avail both written material and demo video tutorials. 
To gain in-depth knowledge and be on par with  practical experience, then exploer OBIEE Training.

6 . Review the changes and then click Cancel.
7 . Helen realizes that she should not have deleted the Products table. She needs to undo her changes before the local repositories are merged, and the new master is created.
Click File –> Multiuser –> Discard Local Changes.

3

Products is restored to the repository and the repository immediately closes (the Administration Tool remains open).
8 . Navigate to
<ORACLE_INSTANCE>\bifoundation\OracleBIServerComponent\coreappplication_obips1\repository
You can clearly see that Helen’s three files, originalhmayes.rpd, hmayes.rpd.Log, and hmayes.rpd, have been
removed and will no longer become part of the repository update.

3

9 . Helen needs to continue her work in the MUDE. She therefore needs to check out the shared repository once again. In the Administration Tool, click File > Multiuser > Checkout.

Note: If you are running this tutorial on a local machine and are building both developer’s (abell and hmayes) repositories on the local hard drive, you may receive a Window’s sharing message that prompts you to overwrite the SharedMaster.rpd. If you receive this message, click No.
10 . In the “Extract from SharedMaster.rpd” dialog box, enter the repository password and click OK.
11 . The Browse dialog box appears. Select the check box for Sample Apps Presentation and click OK.
12 . In the “Create new subset repository” dialog box, change the default file name to hmayes.rpd, as previously named, and click Save.
13 . Expand A – Sample Sales and ensure that Products has been restored. Helen’s repository should look like this:

3

14. Minimize Helen’s Administration Tool.

For indepth understanding of OBIEE click on

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Reviewing Multiuser Options During Development in OBIEE 11g
Author Rating
5

“At TekSlate, we are trying to create high quality tutorials and articles, if you think any information is incorrect or want to add anything to the article, please feel free to get in touch with us at info@tekslate.com, we will update the article in 24 hours.”

0 Responses on Reviewing Multiuser Options During Development in OBIEE 11g"

    Leave a Message

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Site Disclaimer, Copyright © 2016 - All Rights Reserved.

    Support


    Please leave a message and we'll get back to you soon.

    I agree to be contacted via e-mail.